Skip directly to content

Awards & Honours

OBE - awarded in 1993 for her pioneering work

Chartered Chemist and Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (CChem (Hon) FRSC)

Member of the Society for Chemistry & Industry (MSCI)

Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society (FRAeS)

Fellow of the British Interplanetary Society (FBIS)

Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society (FRGS)

Fellow of the Institute of Science & Technology (FIScT)

Member of the Society for Co-operation in Russian and Soviet Studies

Honorary degrees and Fellowships:
Kingston University London; University of Kent; University of Surrey; University of Birmingham; University of Sheffield; University of Exeter; Robert Gordon University; Plymouth University; Sheffield Hallam University; Southampton Institute; Staffordshire University; Brunel University

Formerly a Trustee of the National Space Centre and a Trustee of Spacelink Learning Foundation, Helen is now a Patron of Spacelink Learning Foundation and the President of the Institute of Science and Technology. She is also an active member of the Association of Space Explorers.

Helen was awarded the Friendship of the Soviet People Medal from the Soviet Union and the Medal for Services to Space from Russia. For her accomplishments in Project Juno, Helen received a star on the Sheffield Walk of Fame.

As Helen is an inspiring and highly engaging role model for young people, numerous schools have named Houses and buildings after her and some have an annual Sharman science event.